Founded in 1963, Ayya Nadar Janaki Ammal College stands testimony to the wisdom, sagacity and foresight of Thiru. P. Ayya Nadar, a legendary philanthropist and visionary industrial architect of Sivakasi Town. Fittingly named after him and his equally generous wife Thirumathi. A. Janaki Ammal, the College caters to the needs of rural sector in the field of higher education. The College upholds ‘Discipline and Academic Excellence’ as its hallmarks to achieve its noble vision of “Pro deo et Patria” – “for God and the Nation”.

Following the footsteps of the Founders, his munificent sons Thiru. A. Grahadurai, Thiru. A. Vairaprakasam, Thiru. A. Subash Chandra Bose and Thiru. A. Ramamurthy continue the noble mission of uplifting the rural masses by providing them affordable and quality higher education. The College is governed by Ayya Nadar Janaki Ammal College Managing Committee in which, the descendants of the Founders and other academic experts serve as its members. At present, under the able Presidentship of Thiru. A. Ramamurthy, Thiru. V. Ayyan Kodiswaran, Thiru. G. Athipathy, Thiru .S. Adhipen Bose as its members and Thiru G. Abiruben as its Secretary & Correspondent of the College, it continues to bring laurels and fame to the institution. Today the College is led by Dr. C. Ashok as its 10th Principal. 

Ayya Nadar Janaki Ammal College, located in a campus sprawling over one hundred and fifty seven acres on the Sivakasi - Srivilliputhur Road, five kilometre away from Sivakasi town, serves as a beacon-light in the backward area of Virudhunagar District and emphasizes teaching, learning and research programmes in different faculties to the benefit of thousands of students who pursue higher education. Today, the College is reckoned as one of the leading educational institutions of higher learning in Tamil Nadu with diversified courses, excellent infrastructure, state-of-the-art facilities, competent faculty and promising students. At present, the College offers 18 UG and 16 PG Courses along with 10 M. Phil and 7 Ph.D. Programmes.

The institution introduced Semester Pattern of Education in 1975 and was conferred with Autonomous Status in 1987. Choice Based Credit System was introduced in 1997 and become a co–educational institution from 1998 at the PG level and 2004 at the UG level. The efforts of Ayya Nadar Janaki Ammal College are being rewarded by NAAC with FIVE STAR status for the period 1999 - 2005. The UGC for its turn, recognized it as a 'College with Potential for Excellence' in 2004 and as'College of Excellence' in 2014. Further, on the second cycle of reaccreditation, the NAAC conferred the prestigious A+ Grade in 2006 and re-accredited (3rd cycle) with the much coveted “A” Grade (CGPA 3.67 out of 4) in 2013.Besides, The Department of Biotechnology, New Delhi conferred on the College, the acclaimed ‘Star College Status’ in 2014. The College continues to march ahead in its academic legacy by securing impressive ranks in NIRF such as 13th Rank in 2017, 47th Rank in 2018, 51st Rank in 2019 and 58th Rank in 2020

Former Principals : 






Thiru. David Michael

1963 – 1966

2Thiru. G.J. Devadason, M.A. L.T.1966 – 1970
3Dr. T. Koilpillai, M.A., M.Ed., Ph.D.1970 – 1977
4Dr. A. Pownraja, M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D.1977 – 1995
5Dr. G. Sivasubramanian,M.Sc., M.Phil., B.T. Ph.D.1995 – 2002
6Dr. S. Sevagapandian,M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D.2002 – 2009
7Dr. S. Baskaran, M.Sc.,  Ph.D.2009 – 2014
8Dr. V. Pandiyarajan M.Sc., M.Phil.,B.Ed.,Ph.D. 2014-2018

Quick Links