Ayya Nadar Janaki Ammal College established by 1963 is a standing testimony to the wisdom and farsighted of The Legendary of Humanitarianism Thiru. P. Ayya Nadar, a farsighted industrial architect of Sivakasi town and renowned academician and his equally generous wife Thirumathi A. Janaki Ammal, caters the need of rural sector for higher education. As this Institution was established by their munificence, the College was fittingly named after them. Discipline and academic excellence are hall mark of this institution.

       The College is being nurtured and developed by the financial resources provided by the Charitable Trusts viz., Janaki Ammal Ayya Nadar Trust and P. Ayya Nadar Charitable Trust. Thiru. A. Grahadurai and Thiru. A. Vairaprakasam, the elder sons of our founder father continued to bring laurels to the institution by being the Secretary and Correspondent of the College Committee respectively for well over 18 years from the very inception of the institution. Thiru. G. Abiruben, M.B.A., has been serving as a Correspondent of this Institution. The Governing body of the Legacy of academicians is being constituted to guide the policies of the institution.

         Ayya Nadar Janaki Ammal College located in a campus sprawling in one hundred and fifty seven acres on the Sivakasi - Srivilliputhur Road, five kilometers away from Sivakasi Town, is serving as beacon-light in the backward area of Virudhunagar District, emphasizes teaching, learning and research programme in different faculties to the benefit of thousands of students who pursue higher education. Today, the Ayya Nadar Janaki Ammal College (Autonomous) is reckoned as one of the leading educational institutions of higher learning in Tamil Nadu with diversified courses, excellent infrastructure, state - of - art facilities, competent faculty and very promising students. At present the College offers 18 UG and 16 PG Courses and 10 M. Phil and 7 Ph.D. Programmes.

        The efforts of Ayya Nadar Janaki Ammal College are being rewarded by NAAC with FIVE STAR status for the period 1999 - 2005. UGC for its turn has recognized as a College with Potential for Excellence by 2004 and College of Excellence by 2013. Further, on reassessment exercise of the accredited Institutions the peer team of NAAC has declared the prestigious A+ Grade by 2006 and re-accredited (3rd cycle) with “A” Grade (CGPA 3.67 out of 4) by 2013.

Former Principals : 






Thiru. David Michael

1963 – 1966

2Thiru. G.J. Devadason, M.A. L.T.1966 – 1970
3Dr. T. Koilpillai, M.A., M.Ed., Ph.D.1970 – 1977
4Dr. A. Pownraja, M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D.1977 – 1995
5Dr. G. Sivasubramanian,M.Sc., M.Phil., B.T. Ph.D.1995 – 2002
6Dr. S. Sevagapandian,M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D.2002 – 2009
7Dr. S. Baskaran, M.Sc.,  Ph.D.2009 – 2014